Damian Lillard Earns NBA Teammate Of The Year Award

Jun 3, 2021, 1:39 PM | Updated: 2:35 pm
Damian Lillard vs. Pacers...
Damian Lillard #0 of the Portland Trail Blazers celebrates after making a basket while being fouled in the first quarter against the Indiana Pacers during their game at Moda Center on January 26, 2020 in Portland, Oregon. (Photo by Abbie Parr/Getty Images)
(Photo by Abbie Parr/Getty Images)

SALT LAKE CITY, Utah – Portland Trail Blazers superstar and former Weber State product Damian Lillard has been named the Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year by his fellow NBA players.

The award recognizes Lillard’s selfless play, leadership on and off the floor, mentorship towards other NBA players, and commitment and dedication to his team.

Lillard has spent all nine seasons of his NBA career in Portland. The Trail Blazers selected Lillard out of Weber State with the sixth pick in the first round, where the guard has built a Hall of Fame resume being named to six All-Star games and five All-NBA teams.

This season Lillard averaged 28.8 points, 7.5 assists, and 4.2 rebounds while leading the Trail Blazers to the sixth seed in the Western Conference Playoffs.

Lillard has also been a mainstay in the Portland community, regularly appearing at public events in the city.

After missing the playoffs in his rookie season, Lillard has led the Trail Blazers to eight consecutive postseason appearances, including a trip to the Western Conference Finals in 2019.

Other nominees included Indiana Pacers guard Malcolm Brogdon, Brooklyn Nets forward Joe Harris, Philadelphia 76ers forward Tobias Harris, Miami Heat forward Udonis Haslem, Utah Jazz forward Joe Ingles, Toronto Raptors guard Kyle Lowry, Dallas Mavericks center Boban Marjanović, Denver Nuggets forward Paul Millsap, Phoenix Suns guard Chris Paul, New York Knicks guard Theo Pinson and Minnesota Timberwolves center Karl-Anthony Towns.

Lillard barely edged out Suns guard Chris Paul for the award, earning 1,012 total points to Paul’s 1,001.

Players were awarded 10 points for each first-place vote, seven points for each second-place vote, five points for each third-place vote, three points for each fourth-place vote, and one point for each fifth-place vote according to the NBA.

Before Lillard, recent Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year award winners include Milwaukee Bucks guard Jrue Holiday, Jazz guard Mike Conley, and the now-retired Jamal Crawford.

Locals in the NBA

Kyle Ireland

Report: Damian Lillard To Compete In Three-Point Contest During 2023 NBA All-Star Weekend

Former Weber State and NBA star Damian Lillard reportedly plans to compete in the 2023 PepsiCo 3-Point Contest during All-Star Weekend.
2 days ago
Kyle Ireland

Former Weber State Star Damian Lillard Named NBA All-Star For Seventh Time

Former Weber State and current Portland Trail Blazers guard Damian Lillard received his seventh career NBA All-Star nod and first since 2021.
3 days ago
Kyle Ireland

Instant Replay: Damian Lillard Becomes Portland Trail Blazers’ All-Time Leading Scorer

Former Weber State star Damian Lillard became the all-time leading scorer for the NBA's Portland Trail Blazers.
2 months ago
Frank Jackson of the Detroit Pistons (Photo by Nic Antaya/Getty Images)...
Brian Preece

Jazz Add Frank Jackson To Roster As Season Tipoff Looms

The Utah Jazz have signed three players, including former Lone Peak High basketball star Frank Jackson ahead of the 2022-23 season.
4 months ago
Justin Bean - Utah State Aggies...
Kyle Ireland and Trevor Allen, KSL Sports

Former USU Forward Justin Bean Signs Training Camp Deal With Grizzlies

Former Utah State standout Justin Bean signed a training camp deal with the Memphis Grizzlies ahead of the 2022 NBA season.
4 months ago
Sam Merrill - Memphis Grizzlies...
Brian Preece

Report: Utah State & Bountiful Great Sam Merrill Finds New NBA Home

After being released by the Memphis Grizzlies in January, Sam Merrill has reportedly reached a deal with the Sacramento Kings.
6 months ago

Sponsored Articles

High angle view of the beautiful Rose Bowl Stadium...
KSL Digital Sales

How to Prepare for the 2023 Rose Bowl

Everything you need to know to plan your 2023 Rose Bowl trip in Pasadena, California. This year, the Utes will face Penn State.
KSL Digital Sales

Notable Moments From The Utah Jazz Season… So Far

At the beginning of the season, the Utah Jazz were second to last. Now they rank in the top 10 teams in the Western Conference.
Football soccer ball on grass field on stadium...
KSL Digital Sales

Everything You Need to Know to Watch the 2022 World Cup

Find out where and when to watch the upcoming games and final match for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar, including where to find live updates.
ksl sports logos...
KSL Sports

KSL Sports Newsletter: Sign Up Now

Sign up today for the KSL Sports newsletter. Get the latest Utah sports news delivered to your inbox.
KSL Sports

Win Tickets Wednesday: Jimmy Buffett

Get your Hawaiian shirts ready.
Iron Maiden tour...
KSL Sports

Win Tickets Wednesday: Iron Maiden

Iron Maiden returns to Utah in 2022 with The Legacy of the Beast tour.
Damian Lillard Earns NBA Teammate Of The Year Award