Share this story...
Pac-12 Logo on the field at Rice-Eccles Stadium
Latest News

Pac-12 Conference Announces Decision Not To Expand

Pac-12 Logo on the field at Rice-Eccles Stadium (Photo by Getty Images)

SALT LAKE CITY, Utah – The Pac-12 Conference issued a statement and announced that it would not expand and add any additional members at this time.

The conference made the announcement on Thursday, August 26.

“Following consultation with our Presidents, Chancellors and Athletic Directors, the Pac-12 Conference has made the decision to not pursue expansion of our membership at this time,” the conference announced. “This decision was made following extensive internal discussion and analysis, and is based on the current competitive strength and cohesiveness of our 12 universities. It is also grounded in our confidence in our ability as a conference to best support our student-athletes and to grow and thrive both academically and athletically.”

The last time the Pac-12 added new members was in 2011 with the additions of Colorado and Utah.

The decision comes only days after the Pac-12, Big Ten, and ACC publicly announced an alliance between the three conferences.

Conference realignment has been a major topic in college athletics over the past couple months. The new wave of rumors and realignment discussion was kicked off in July when Texas and Oklahoma decided to leave the Big 12 Conference for the SEC.

Many fans and sports analysts have wondered what would happen to the remaining eight programs in the Big 12 and if another conference like the Pac-12 would look to added some of those schools.

The Pac-12 decision “at this time” puts some of those thoughts to rest — for now.

Current Pac-12 Members

The following schools are full-time members of the Pac-12 Conference:

  • Arizona
  • Arizona State
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Oregon
  • Oregon State
  • Stanford
  • UCLA
  • USC
  • Utah
  • Washington
  • Washington State