USU’s Merrill, BYU’s Bryant Win NBA Title With Bucks

Jul 20, 2021, 9:43 PM | Updated: 9:43 pm
Elijah Bryant (Photo by Ethan Miller/Getty Images) and Sam Merrill (Photo by David Becker/Getty Ima...
Elijah Bryant (Photo by Ethan Miller/Getty Images) and Sam Merrill (Photo by David Becker/Getty Images)
(Photo by David Becker/Getty Images)

SALT LAKE CITY, Utah – Former Utah State guard Sam Merrill and BYU alumn Elijah Bryant joined the ranks as NBA champions with the Milwaukee Bucks title-clinching game six victory over the Phoenix Suns.

Merrill was the 60th pick in the NBA draft by the New Orleans Pelicans but was traded to Milwaukee along with guard Jrue Holiday on draft night in what proved to be a critical move in the Bucks title aspirations.

Bryant meanwhile signed a two-year contract with the Bucks in mid-May, just three games before the regular season ended.

The Bucks won their first NBA title in 50 years with a 105-98 win in Game 6 to take the series 4-2.

Merrill joined the Bucks after averaging 16.6 points, 3.6 rebounds, and 3.6 assists in his four-year career at Utah State. The guard averaged three points and one rebound in 30 appearances for Milwaukee as a rookie.

Bryant appeared in just one regular season game for Milwaukee, scoring 16 points, grabbing six rebounds, and handing out three assists in the season finale. The guard averaged 15.6 points, 5.3 rebounds, and 2.3 assists while shooting 47 percent from the floor including 37 percent from three as a sophomore and junior.

Bryant went undrafted after his junior season but joined Hapoel Eilat of the Israeli Premier League before signing with Maccabi Tel Aviv. The former Cougar also played for Milwaukee at the 2019 NBA Summer League.

The two rookies join elite company having won titles after attending college in the state of Utah.

Merrill is the first Aggie to win an NBA title, though former USU forward Marv Roberts won the 1975 ABA title with the Kentucky Colonels.

Bryant is the third BYU Cougar to win an NBA title, joining Danny Ainge and Greg Kite who both won titles as teammates with the Boston Celtics in 1984 and 1986.

Prior to 1984, former BYU big man Jim Eakins won ABA titles in 1969 and 1976 with the Oakland Oaks and the New York Nets. Dick Nemelka won an ABA title in 1971 with the Stars in 1971.

Four former University of Utah basketball players have won NBA titles, including Kyle Kuzma, Andrew Bogut, Michael Doleac, and Arnie Ferrin.

  • BYU Cougars Scoreboard

  • BYU Cougars Team Leaders

  • BYU Cougars Standings

  • Utah State Aggies Scoreboard

  • Utah State Aggies Team Leaders

  • Utah State Aggies Standings

Locals in the NBA

Kyle Ireland

Former Weber State Star Damian Lillard Named NBA All-Star For Seventh Time

Former Weber State and current Portland Trail Blazers guard Damian Lillard received his seventh career NBA All-Star nod and first since 2021.
1 day ago
Kyle Ireland

Instant Replay: Damian Lillard Becomes Portland Trail Blazers’ All-Time Leading Scorer

Former Weber State star Damian Lillard became the all-time leading scorer for the NBA's Portland Trail Blazers.
2 months ago
Frank Jackson of the Detroit Pistons (Photo by Nic Antaya/Getty Images)...
Brian Preece

Jazz Add Frank Jackson To Roster As Season Tipoff Looms

The Utah Jazz have signed three players, including former Lone Peak High basketball star Frank Jackson ahead of the 2022-23 season.
4 months ago
Justin Bean - Utah State Aggies...
Kyle Ireland and Trevor Allen, KSL Sports

Former USU Forward Justin Bean Signs Training Camp Deal With Grizzlies

Former Utah State standout Justin Bean signed a training camp deal with the Memphis Grizzlies ahead of the 2022 NBA season.
4 months ago
Sam Merrill - Memphis Grizzlies...
Brian Preece

Report: Utah State & Bountiful Great Sam Merrill Finds New NBA Home

After being released by the Memphis Grizzlies in January, Sam Merrill has reportedly reached a deal with the Sacramento Kings.
6 months ago
Brandon Taylor #11 of the Utah Utes passes past Chase Fischer #1 of the Brigham Young Cougars in th...
Michelle Bodkin

Former, Current Runnin’ Utes Rally For Good Causes

The Runnin' Utes family, former and current, have been living that mantra the past few days giving back to the Salt Lake community through former Ute Brandon Taylor's basketball camp and charity showcase.
6 months ago

Sponsored Articles

High angle view of the beautiful Rose Bowl Stadium...
KSL Digital Sales

How to Prepare for the 2023 Rose Bowl

Everything you need to know to plan your 2023 Rose Bowl trip in Pasadena, California. This year, the Utes will face Penn State.
KSL Digital Sales

Notable Moments From The Utah Jazz Season… So Far

At the beginning of the season, the Utah Jazz were second to last. Now they rank in the top 10 teams in the Western Conference.
Football soccer ball on grass field on stadium...
KSL Digital Sales

Everything You Need to Know to Watch the 2022 World Cup

Find out where and when to watch the upcoming games and final match for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar, including where to find live updates.
ksl sports logos...
KSL Sports

KSL Sports Newsletter: Sign Up Now

Sign up today for the KSL Sports newsletter. Get the latest Utah sports news delivered to your inbox.
KSL Sports

Win Tickets Wednesday: Jimmy Buffett

Get your Hawaiian shirts ready.
Iron Maiden tour...
KSL Sports

Win Tickets Wednesday: Iron Maiden

Iron Maiden returns to Utah in 2022 with The Legacy of the Beast tour.
USU’s Merrill, BYU’s Bryant Win NBA Title With Bucks