BYU WR Dax Milne Among Semifinalists For Biletnikoff Award

Dec 7, 2020, 2:03 PM | Updated: 3:52 pm
Dax Milne - BYU Football...
Brigham Young Cougars wide receiver Dax Milne (5) catches the ball for a touchdown during an NCAA football game at LaVell Edwards Stadium in Provo on Saturday, Oct. 31, 2020. (Yukai Peng, Deseret News)
(Yukai Peng, Deseret News)

PROVO, Utah – The story of BYU wide receiver Dax Milne is a fascinating one. Milne has gone from preferred walk-on to one of college football’s best wide receivers.

The validation for that statement was given out on Monday when Milne was named a semifinalist for the Biletnikoff Award. An award that annually recognizes the most outstanding FBS receiver in college football, regardless of position.

Milne has been a go-to receiver for Heisman Trophy hopeful Zach Wilson throughout BYU’s entire 2020 season. The 6-foot-1, 190-pound junior from South Jordan, Utah, Milne is one of 11 semifinalists for the Biletnikoff Award.

Milne leads BYU this season with 55 receptions for 1,012 yards and seven touchdown grabs. He is currently averaging 101.2 yards per game, and his 1,012 receiving yards rank seventh nationally among all receivers.

“It’s an honor and it’s pretty cool to have my name with all the other great players out there,” said Milne on being named to Biletnikoff Semifinalist list. “It’s a goal [to be on the list] for sure, but I didn’t really pay too much mind to it, just kind of happened, it’s cool to be part of.”

The Biletnikoff Award is named after former Florida State University and Oakland Raider great Fred Biletnikoff. Biletnikoff was a consensus All-America receiver for the Seminoles and was an All-Pro for John Madden’s Raiders in the Silver & Black’s glory years.

Milne’s 1,000+ yard season is only the 17th time a BYU receiver has put together a year over a grand of yards in the receiving game. His 1,012 yards currently ranks 15th all-time in BYU football history for most yards in a season.

BYU has never had a player win the Biletnikoff Award since the honor was established in 1994.

Dax Milne and the 2020 Biletnikoff Award Semifinalists

Jonathan Adams Jr. –  Arkansas State

Dyami Brown – North Carolina

Jaelon Darden – North Texas

Ty Fryfogle – Indiana

Dax Milne – BYU

Elijah Moore – Ole Miss

Kyle Pitts – Florida

Amari Rodgers – Clemson

DeVonta Smith – Alabama

Tylan Wallace – Oklahoma State

Marlon Williams – UCF

Mitch Harper is a BYU Insider for and host of the Cougar Tracks Podcast (SUBSCRIBE) and Cougar Sports Saturday (Saturday from 12–3 p.m., KSL Newsradio). Follow him on Twitter: @Mitch_Harper and the KSL Sports app.

  • BYU Cougars Scoreboard

  • BYU Cougars Team Leaders

  • BYU Cougars Standings

BYU Cougars

Kyle Ireland

Report: Lions RB Jamaal Williams Fined For TD Celebration Dance

Detroit Lions running back Jamaal Williams reportedly received a fine from the NFL for celebrating a touchdown during Week 3.
18 hours ago
Kyle Ireland

ESPN Analyst Praises BYU QB Jaren Hall During Win Over USU

Former NFL player and current ESPN broadcaster Louis Riddick praised BYU quarterback Jaren Hall during the Cougars' win over Utah State.
2 days ago
BYU Quarterback Jaren Hall warming up before game against Utah State...
Matt Baiamonte

BYU Football Questions Answered In Win Against Utah State

The defense didn’t come to play in the first half so Jaren Hall and the offense had to put up points in third quarter to secure the win.
3 days ago
Mitch Harper

Instant Takeaways From BYU’s Win Over Utah State

Here are some instant takeaways from BYU football's third consecutive victory in the Old Wagon Wheel rivalry.
3 days ago
Brian Preece

Cooper Legas Deserves Another Start After Loss To BYU

In spite of the final numbers, Cooper Legas looks capable of improving the fortunes of a Utah State offense that has struggled in 2022.
3 days ago
Dallen Graff

No. 19 BYU Takes Care Of Business With Win Over Utah State

No. 19 BYU took care of business in a rivalry matchup, holding off Utah State 38-26 on Thursday night in Provo.
3 days ago
BYU WR Dax Milne Among Semifinalists For Biletnikoff Award