Share this story...
Zach Wilson - BYU
Latest News

Zach Wilson Named Official Candidate For Prestigious Davey O’Brien Award

BYU QB Zach Wilson attempts a sidearm pass against UTSA Roadrunners on October 10th, 2020. (BYU Photo/Jaren Wilkey)

PROVO, Utah – BYU star quarterback Zach Wilson has been named an official candidate for the Davey O’Brien Award.

Wilson is one of 35 quarterbacks in the Davey O’Brien QB Class of 2020. The class will be trimmed down to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Dec. 7, with fans being able to vote who makes it to the semifinals.

Fans can vote for Wilson or one of the other 34 quarterbacks on the Davey O’Brien Award Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook channels. Voting will run through Sunday, Dec. 6. The top vote-getter on each platform will each receive the equivalent of two additional committee member ballots for that voting period. Fan voting will be done by liking the quarterback’s photo from the original post on the official social media accounts.

Following the naming of the semifinalists, the next round of fan voting will take place from Monday, Dec. 7 to Sunday, Dec. 20 with the three finalists named on Tuesday, Dec. 22. The final round of fan voting will occur from Tuesday, Dec. 22 until Wednesday, Dec. 30. The winner will be announced on Thursday, Jan. 7 on the 30th annual The Home Depot College Football Awards, which will be held virtually from 7-8:30 p.m. (ET) on ESPN.

Zach Wilson has put up big numbers in 2020

Wilson has led BYU to its first 9-0 start to a season since 2001. The 6-foot-3, 210-pound signal-caller has passed for 26 touchdowns this season and has led the high powered BYU attack to 333.4 yards per game, good for eighth in all of college football.

Other notable stats for Wilson this season include: No. 1 nationally in points responsible for (208), No. 3 in passing touchdowns (26), No. 3 in passing efficiency (205.3), No. 3 in passing yards per attempt (11.49), No. 3 in completion percentage (.743), No. 6 in passing yards per completion (15.48), No. 7 in passing yards (2,724), No. 11 in passing yards per game (302.7), and No. 11 in total offense (323.9).

Since the O’Brien Award became a Quarterback-Only award in 1981, BYU players have won the award four times. Including the first year in 1981 with Jim McMahon.

Wilson and BYU return to action for their next scheduled game against the San Diego State Aztecs on Dec. 12 at 8 p.m. (MT) on ESPN2 and KSL NewsRadio.

Davey O’Brien QB Class of 2020

Connor Bazelak, Missouri, Fr.

Ian Book, Notre Dame, Sr.

Shane Buechele, SMU, Sr.

Matt Corral, Ole Miss, So.

Dustin Crum, Kent State, Sr.

Malik Cunningham, Louisville, Jr.

Sam Ehlinger, Texas, Sr.

Kaleb Eleby, Western Michigan, So.

Justin Fields, Ohio State, Jr.

Dillon Gabriel, UCF, So,

Frank Harris, UTSA, Jr.

Sam Howell, North Carolina, So.

Mac Jones, Alabama, Jr.

Phil Jurkovec, Boston College, So.

D’Eriq King, Miami, Sr.

Trevor Lawrence, Clemson, Jr.

Levi Lewis, Louisiana, Sr.

Grayson McCall, Coastal Carolina, Fr.

Kellen Mond, Texas A&M, Sr.

Michael Penix Jr., Indiana, So.

Kenny Pickett, Pittsburgh, Sr.

Brock Purdy, Iowa State, Jr.

Spencer Rattler, Oklahoma, Fr.

Desmond Ridder, Cincinnati, Jr.

Tyler Shough, Oregon, So.

Kedon Slovis, USC, So.

Zach Smith, Tulsa, Sr.

Nick Starkel, San Jose State, Sr.

Carson Strong, Nevada, So.

Zac Thomas, Appalachian State, Sr.

Kyle Trask, Florida, Sr.

Grant Wells, Marshall, Fr.

Brady White, Memphis, Sr.

Malik Willis, Liberty, Jr.

Zach Wilson, BYU, Jr.

Mitch Harper is a BYU Insider for and host of the Cougar Tracks Podcast (SUBSCRIBE) and Cougar Sports Saturday (Saturday from 12–3 p.m., KSL Newsradio). Follow him on Twitter: @Mitch_Harper and the KSL Sports app.

  • BYU Cougars Scoreboard

  • BYU Cougars Team Leaders

  • BYU Cougars Standings