State Of Utah Historically, Currently Well Repped In Super Bowl

Jan 17, 2020, 10:04 AM | Updated: 3:13 pm
Jamaal Williams #30 of the Green Bay Packers reacts before the NFC Divisional Playoff game against ...
Jamaal Williams #30 of the Green Bay Packers reacts before the NFC Divisional Playoff game against the Seattle Seahawks at Lambeau Field on January 12, 2020 in Green Bay, Wisconsin. (Photo by Gregory Shamus/Getty Images)
(Photo by Gregory Shamus/Getty Images)

SALT LAKE CITY, Utah – When Super Bowl LIV kicks off in Miami on February 2 there is guaranteed to be at least two players who played collegiately in the state of Utah participating in the game.

Former BYU running back Jamal Williams and the Green Bay Packers are going head to head with Former BYU linebacker Fred Warner and the San Francisco 49ers in the NFC Championship game. Former Utah Punter Mitch Wishnowsky’s leg power will be on full display for the Niners.

Over in the AFC, the Kansas City Chiefs have representation from all three FBS schools in Utah. Former Cougar Dan Sorenson roams the Chiefs defensive backfield. Running back Darwin Thompson is a regular on the Chiefs special teams as a rookie after a stellar career at Utah State.

On the offensive line, former Ute Jackson Barton is the second-string right tackle for Andy Reidโ€™s offense.

The Chiefs will host the Tennesse Titans which will have representation from one of Utahโ€™s two FCS programs with defensive back LeShaun Sims from Southern Utah University.

This marks the eighth straight Super Bowl with at least one former Ute, Cougar or Aggie playing in the big game.

Here are the others that have participated in the Super Bowl since Super Bowl XLVII. (This list includes those who played, not necessarily all those who were on the roster.)

SUPER BOWL LIII: LB Kyle Van Noy (BYU) – Patriots*

SUPER BOWL LII: CB Eric Rowe (Utah) โ€“ Patriots, Van Noy โ€“ Patriots

SUPER BOWL LI: CB Rowe โ€“ Patriots*, Van Noy โ€“ Patriots*

SUPER BOWL 50: DL Star Lotulelei (Utah) โ€“ Panthers

SUPER BOWL XLIX: DL Sealver Siliga (Utah) โ€“ Patriots*, RB Robert Turbin (Utah State) โ€“ Seahawks, LB Bobby Wagner (Utah State) โ€“ Seahawks

SUPER BOWL XLVIII: RB Turbin โ€“ Seahawks*, LB Wagner โ€“ Seahawks*, G Zane Beadles (Utah) โ€“ Broncos

SUPER BOWL XLVII: DL Maโ€™ake Kemoeatu (Utah) โ€“ Ravens*, DL Paul Kruger (Utah) โ€“ Ravens*, TE Dennis Pitta (BYU) โ€“ Ravens*, ST David Reed (Utah) โ€“ Ravens*

*denotes win.


KSL Sports

EXCLUSIVE: BYU OC Aaron Roderick Discusses Fun Parts Of BYU Offense

With BYU opening Fall Camp this week, Aaron Roderick sat down to talk about what makes this year's BYU offense so much fun.ย 
4 months ago
Malik Moore - BYU Football...
Trevor Allen

BYU DB Malik Moore Believes Cougars’ Defense Is Overlooked

BYU defensive back Malik Moore feels like the Cougars' defense is being overlooked as they approach the 2022 college football season.
5 months ago
Jarred Vanderbilt - Minnesota Timberwolves...
Trevor Allen

Getting To Know Newest Utah Jazz Players From Timberwolves Trade

Now that the Utah Jazz has officially traded Rudy Gobert to the Minnesota Timberwolves, the franchise now has five new players on its roster.
5 months ago
Utah Jazz home floor at Vivint Smart Home Arena (Photo: Ben Anderson/KSL Sports)...
Trevor Allen

Isaiah Miller Throws Down Hammer Dunk For Jazz In SLC Summer League

Guard Isaiah Miller had a nice hammer dunk in the fourth quarter for the Utah Jazz against the Philadelphia 76ers in the Salt Lake City Summer League.
5 months ago
Utah Jazz center Rudy Gobert defends a shot by Memphis Grizzlies forward Desmond Bane (Photo by Ale...
Trevor Allen

Top Five Plays From Rudy Gobert’s Time With Utah Jazz

Rudy Gobert has made countless big plays for the Utah Jazz in nine seasons on both ends of the basketball court.
5 months ago
Rudy Gobert - Utah Jazz - Dallas Mavericks...
Trevor Allen

Best Moments From Rudy Gobert’s Career With Utah Jazz

In nine seasons with the Utah Jazz, Rudy Gobert left his mark with memorable moments both on and off the court and in the Salt Lake City community.
5 months ago
State Of Utah Historically, Currently Well Repped In Super Bowl