Legendary Runnin’ Utes Coach Rick Majerus Joins Hall Of Fame

Nov 20, 2019, 10:31 PM | Updated: Nov 24, 2019, 7:39 pm
Rick Majerus - Utah Utes...
2 Dec 1998: Coach Rick Majerus of Utah talking to Andre Miller #24 in the huddle during the Great Eight Classic Game against Rhode Island at the United Center in Chicago, Illinois. Rhode Island defeated Utah 70-63. Credit: Jonathan Daniel / Allsport / Getty Images

SALT LAKE CITY, Utah – Former Utah men’s basketball head coach Rick Majerus joined eight individuals as part of the 2019 National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame class.

The former Ute coach was inducted into the hall of fame on Sunday, November 24. He was named to the hall of fame earlier in 2019.

Majerus led the Runnin’ Utes from 1989-2004.

“This is a very well-deserved honor for Rick Majerus and a great source of pride for Utah Athletics,” said Utah Athletic Director Mark Harlan. “His legacy of success as head coach of some of the most successful teams in the history of Utah Basketball will now be recognized in the National College Basketball Hall of Fame, and we salute Coach Majerus on his induction.”

During his tenure at Utah, Majerus led the Utes to the Final Four and an appearance in the national championship game in 1998.

Utah won six regular-season Western Athletic Conference titles under Majerus. They also won three WAC tournament titles in his time as head coach. After the Utes moved to the Mountain West Conference, they won an additional two regular-season conference championships under Majerus.

The former Utah coach was honored as WAC head coach of the year five times (1991, 1993, 1995, 1997, and 1999).

During his career, Majerus also coached at Marquette, Ball State, and Saint Louis.

Majerus passed away at the age of 64 years old on December 1, 2012.

In addition to the former Utah coach, fellow coaches Homer Drew (Bethel, Indiana-South Bend, Valparaiso) and Lute Olsen (Long Beach State, Iowa, Arizona) will be inducted on Sunday. The players in the 2019 class include Calbert Chaney (Indiana), Shane Battier (Duke), Terry Dischinger (Purdue), Ernie DiGregorio (Purdue), Larry Johnson (UNLV), and Todd Lichti (Stanford).

  • Utah Utes Scoreboard

  • Utah Utes Team Leaders

  • Utah Utes Standings

Utah Utes

Michelle Bodkin

Three Things To Watch: No. 14 Utah Vs. Colorado

No. 14 Utah will be in Boulder this weekend to take on Colorado to finish out the regular season.
1 day ago
Tavion Thomas - Utah Utes vs. Stanford Cardinal...
Michelle Bodkin

Tavion Thomas Announces His Season Is Over, Will Be Preparing For The NFL

Utah running back Tavion Thomas announced Friday afternoon his time with the Utes is done due to a toe injury he sustained at Oregon.
1 day ago
Utah Utes running back Zack Moss (2) runs in the second Utah touchdown of the game against Arizona ...
Michelle Bodkin

A Trio Of Utah Running Backs Teamed Up To Help 50 SLC Families With Thanksgiving

A trio of Utah running backs teamed together to provide and handout 50 turkeys to deserving Salt Lake City families ahead of Thanksgiving.
2 days ago
Ben Anderson

Utes Drop In Latest Big-PAC Power Poll Ranking

The University of Utah Utes dropped in week 12 of the Big-PAC Power Poll after their loss to the Ducks in Oregon last weekend.
2 days ago
Marco Anthony - Utah Utes vs. Arizona Wildcats...
Michelle Bodkin

Runnin’ Utes Battle Hard, Can’t Get It Done Against Mississippi State

Utah engaged in quite the battle Wednesday evening, but ultimately couldn't get it done against Mississippi State.
3 days ago
Kennady McQueen - Utah Utes vs. Xavier...
Michelle Bodkin

Utah Women Clinch Nail-Biter In Baha Mar Pink Flamingo Championship

The Utah women's basketball team advanced to 6-0 at the Baha Mar Pink Flamingo Championship after clinching a nail-biter against Ole Miss.
3 days ago
Legendary Runnin’ Utes Coach Rick Majerus Joins Hall Of Fame