Mark Eaton, Ron Boone Eligible For Hall Of Fame

Jan 9, 2019, 10:48 AM
Mark Eaton...
Mark Eaton signs his new book at the Jazz 100 Club in Vivint Arena in Salt Lake City on Friday, March 30, 2018. (Kristin Murphy, Deseret News)
(Kristin Murphy, Deseret News)

SALT LAKE CITY, Utah – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced that Utah Jazz alumni Ron Boone and Mark Eaton are among the eligible candidates as first-time nominees for the Class of 2019.

Eaton is among the North America committee nominations for players, coaches and referees. He was a two-time NBA Defensive Player of the Year award winner in 1985 and 1989 and was selected as an NBA All-Star in 1989.

The 7-4 center is one of the best defensive players in NBA history, holding the record for most blocks in a season (456) and blocked shots per game average in a career (3.50).

Eaton’s No. 53 jersey has been retired by the Utah Jazz, where he played his entire 11-year career from 1982-93. In the 875 games played, he scored 5,216 points, pulled down 6,939 rebounds and blocked 3,064 shots.

Boone is a candidate nominated by the veterans committee in the direct-elect category. He played the most consecutive games of any player in the history of professional basketball, participating in 1,041 games in a row between the ABA (662) and NBA (379).

Between the ABA and NBA, Boone scored 17,437 points playing for the Dallas/Texas Chaparrals from 1968-71, Utah Stars from 1971-75, Spirits of St. Louis from 1975-76), Kansas City Kings from 1976-78), Los Angeles Lakers for one season and the Utah Jazz from 1979-81.

The Omaha, Nebraska native was an ABA champion in 1971, a four-time ABA All-Star and an ABA All-Time Team selection. He finished his playing career with the Utah Jazz and has been a broadcaster for the team for the past 31 years.

The finalist from the North American and Women’s committee for the Class of 2019 will be announced during the NBA All-Star Weekend on February 15 in Charlotte, North Carolina. The entire Class of 2019, including those selected by the direct elect committees, will be unveiled during the NCAA Final Four in Minneapolis, Minnesota. The enshrinement festivities will take place in Springfield, Massachusetts from September 5 to 7.

  • Utah Jazz Scoreboard

  • Utah Jazz Team Leaders

  • Utah Jazz Standings

Utah Jazz

Utah Jazz center Walker Kessler (24) blocks the final shot by Boston Celtics forward Grant Williams...
Ben Anderson

Clutch Rookies Push Jazz Past Celtics

The Utah Jazz downed the Boston Celtics 118-117 thanks to huge plays from rookies Walker Kessler and Ocahi Agbaji. 
2 days ago
Utah Jazz forward Rudy Gay (22) drives on Boston Celtics forward Sam Hauser (30)...
Ben Anderson

Jazz Erase 19 Point Deficit, Stun Celtics

The Utah Jazz stunned the Boston Celtics 118-117, opening their four-game homestand with a win. Markkanen led the Jazz with 28 points.
2 days ago
Chandler Holt

Kris Dunn Makes Tough Layup Through Contact Against Boston Defense

Kris Dunn drove into the heart of the Celtics' defense and got a tough layup to drop early in the fourth quarter.
2 days ago
Kyle Ireland

Jazz Guard Ochai Agbaji Buries Consecutive Three-Pointers Against Celtics

Jazz guard Ochai Agbaji hit a pair of three-pointers during a big run in the third quarter of Utah's game against the Boston Celtics.
2 days ago
Chandler Holt

Talen Horton-Tucker Fuels Huge Jazz Run Late In Second Quarter

On Saturday in Vivint Arena, Talen Horton-Tucker and Lauri Markkanen caught fire in the second quarter to cut into the large Celtics lead.
2 days ago
Kyle Ireland

Jazz Forward Simone Fontecchio Hits Back-To-Back Threes Against Celtics

Jazz forward Simone Fontecchio connected on consecutive three-pointers during the first half of Utah's game against the Boston Celtics.
2 days ago

Sponsored Articles

High angle view of the beautiful Rose Bowl Stadium...
KSL Digital Sales

How to Prepare for the 2023 Rose Bowl

Everything you need to know to plan your 2023 Rose Bowl trip in Pasadena, California. This year, the Utes will face Penn State.
KSL Digital Sales

Notable Moments From The Utah Jazz Season… So Far

At the beginning of the season, the Utah Jazz were second to last. Now they rank in the top 10 teams in the Western Conference.
Football soccer ball on grass field on stadium...
KSL Digital Sales

Everything You Need to Know to Watch the 2022 World Cup

Find out where and when to watch the upcoming games and final match for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar, including where to find live updates.
ksl sports logos...
KSL Sports

KSL Sports Newsletter: Sign Up Now

Sign up today for the KSL Sports newsletter. Get the latest Utah sports news delivered to your inbox.
KSL Sports

Win Tickets Wednesday: Jimmy Buffett

Get your Hawaiian shirts ready.
Iron Maiden tour...
KSL Sports

Win Tickets Wednesday: Iron Maiden

Iron Maiden returns to Utah in 2022 with The Legacy of the Beast tour.
Mark Eaton, Ron Boone Eligible For Hall Of Fame