Share this story...
Latest News

Mastroeni, Morales, Kreis, Among Others, Eligible For 2022 National Soccer Hall Of Fame Induction

Head coach of Real Salt Lake Jason Kreis (R) congratulates Javier Morales #11 during a game against the Seattle Sounders during the second half of an MLS play-off 1st leg soccer game October 29, 2011 at Rio Tinto Stadium in Sandy, Utah. Real Salt Lake won the game taking a 3-0 lead into the second game. (Photo by George Frey/Getty Images)

SALT LAKE CITY, Utah – Real Salt Lake interim manager Pablo Mastroeni, former attacking midfielder Javier Morales, and former player and striker Jason Kreis headline the list of candidates with ties to Real Salt Lake who are eligible for the 2022 National Soccer Hall of Fame.

Other players with ties to Real Salt Lake that are also eligible include Jeff Cunningham, Robin Fraser, Chris Klein, Greg Vanney, Richie Williams, and Clint Mathis.

Mastroeni and Morales are the only candidates with ties to Real Salt Lake who find themselves on the Player Eligibility List. 34 other candidates are on the list which will be narrowed down to 20 finalists following a screening process. Candidates listed on the Player Eligibility List must have been retired for at least 3 years but no longer than 10.

The other names mentioned above are all candidates under the Veteran Eligibility list, suggesting, that all candidates have been retired for at least 10 years. The chances of induction into the National Soccer Hall Of Fame become much more difficult under the Veteran Eligibility List.

Unlike the Player Eligibility list where there are 36 total candidates, the Veteran Eligibility list contains 97. Of the 97 candidates, 10 will be announced as finalists following a two-step screening process.

Earlier this year, both Mastroeni and Mathis were announced as finalists under the Player and Veteran Eligibility lists respectively, but neither qualified for Hall of Fame induction.

Last year’s inductions included Christie Pearce Rampone, Jaime Moreno, Steve Cherundolo, and Kevin Payne.