BYU Football Releases First Depth Chart Of 2021 Season At Annual Media Day

Jun 17, 2021, 8:06 AM
BYU Football - LES...
The BYU Spirit Squad waves their team flags after running out before the rivalry game between BYU and Utah at LaVell Edwards Stadium in Provo on Thursday, Aug. 29, 2019. (Colter Peterson, Deseret News)
(Colter Peterson, Deseret News)

PROVO, Utah – The annual BYU football Media Day is always a mega event for media members to get ready for a season. But it also gives us a pre-season glimpse at the first depth chart heading into a season.

On Thursday, BYU football released their first depth chart of the 2021 season in their annual Media Guide.

BYU has a lot of momentum coming into this season after producing an 11-1 record a year ago and a No. 11 finish in the final AP Top 25 poll. The big question centers around, who will replace Zach Wilson at quarterback.

BYU Football Depth Chart: 2021 Pre-Season

Here’s a look at who sits atop (rather who has an OR next to their name) the depth chart. Keep in mind, BYU football fall camp begins on August 5th, 2021. Then on September 4th, BYU opens the 2021 season in Las Vegas at Allegiant Stadium home of the Las Vegas Raiders.



Jaren Hall -OR-

Baylor Romney -OR-

Jacob Conover

Running Back

Tyler Allgeier -or-

Lopini Katoa

Miles Davis

Wide Receiver

Gunner Romney

Brayden Cosper -or-

Kade Moore

Wide Receiver

Neil Pau’u

Kody Epps -or-

Hobbs Nyberg

Wide Receiver

Chris Jackson

Keanu Hill -or-

Terence Fall

Tight End

Isaac Rex

Masen Wake

Carter Wheat

Left Tackle

Blake Freeland

Keanu Saleapaga

Left Guard

Clark Barrington

Seth Willis


James Empey

Joe Tukuafu

Right Guard

Connor Pay

Campbell Barrington

Right Tackle

Harris LaChance

Brayden Keim


SE – Defensive Line

Lorenzo Fauatea

Hunter Greer

Kade Pupunu

Defensive End

Tyler Batty

Alden Tofa

Alema Pilimai

Nose Guard

Atunaisa Mahe

Caden Haws

John Nelson -or-

Jacob Palu

Defensive Tackle

Earl Tuioti-Mariner

Gabe Summers

Blake Mangelson -or-

Josh Larsen

Outside Edge

Uriah Leiataua

Fisher Jackson

Mike Petty


Pepe Tanuvasa

Uriah Leiataua

Alex Muti


Keenan Pili

Morgan Pyper -or-

Jackson Kaufusi

Nick Nethercott


Max Tooley

Tavita Gagnier -or-

Jackson Kaufusi

Isaac Matua


Payton Wilgar

Ben Bywater


Josh Wilson

Ammon Hannemann


George Udo

Javelle Brown

Jaylon Vickers


Caleb Christensen

Micah Harper

Jacob Boren


Jared Kapisi

Dean Jones

Jason Money

Wes Wright

Strong Safety

Chaz Ah You

Talan Alfrey

Mitchell Price

Matt Criddle

Free Safety

Malik Moore

Hayden Livingston

Dean Jones

Matt Criddle

Left Cornerback

D’Angelo Mandell

Shamon Willis

Jacques Wilson

Right Cornerback

Keenan Ellis

Isaiah Herron

Ethan Slade


Jake Oldroyd

Justen Smith -or-

Cash Peterman

Place Kicking

Jake Oldroyd

Justen Smith

Cash Peterman


Ryan Rehkow

Hayden Livingston -or-

Talmage Gunther

Long Snapper PK

Britton Hogan -or-

Austin Riggs

Long Snapper Punts

Austin Riggs -or-

Britton Hogan


Ryan Rehkow

Cash Peterman

Kick Returner

Caleb Christensen

Miles Davis

Punt Returner

Hobbs Nyberg

Talmage Gunther

Mitch Harper is a BYU Insider for and host of the Cougar Tracks Podcast (SUBSCRIBE) and Cougar Sports Saturday (Saturday from 12-3 pm) on KSL Newsradio. Follow him on Twitter: @Mitch_Harper.

  • BYU Cougars Scoreboard

  • BYU Cougars Team Leaders

  • BYU Cougars Standings

BYU Cougars

BYU Football, LES...
Mitch Harper

BYU Football Lands Commitment From Highland’s Siosefa Brown

BYU lands a commitment for the 2024 recruiting class.
1 day ago
Big 12, Football Schedule...
Mitch Harper

Big 12 Locks In Date, Time For 2023 Football Schedule Release

The much-anticipated Big 12 schedule is set to be released.
1 day ago
BYU Football, Helmet...
Mitch Harper

BYU Football Lands Transfer Portal Cornerback Dylan Flowers

BYU adds to its Transfer Portal commitment class.
1 day ago
Jaren Hall, BYU, Senior Bowl...
Mitch Harper

BYU’s Jaren Hall Among Headline Quarterbacks At Senior Bowl

Big week ahead for BYU quarterback Jaren Hall at the 2023 Reese's Senior Bowl.
1 day ago
BYU Football, Stone Mulitalo, Commit...
Mitch Harper

BYU Football Bolsters Defensive Line With Two Snow College Commits

BYU turns to the JUCO ranks for additional help along the defensive line.
1 day ago
Kyle Ireland, KSL Sports and The Associated Press

NFL Legend Steve Young Jokes Amid 49ers’ Dire QB Situation In NFC Championship

NFL legend Steve Young commented on the 49ers' dire QB situation during the NFC Championship game against the Eagles.
2 days ago

Sponsored Articles

High angle view of the beautiful Rose Bowl Stadium...
KSL Digital Sales

How to Prepare for the 2023 Rose Bowl

Everything you need to know to plan your 2023 Rose Bowl trip in Pasadena, California. This year, the Utes will face Penn State.
KSL Digital Sales

Notable Moments From The Utah Jazz Season… So Far

At the beginning of the season, the Utah Jazz were second to last. Now they rank in the top 10 teams in the Western Conference.
Football soccer ball on grass field on stadium...
KSL Digital Sales

Everything You Need to Know to Watch the 2022 World Cup

Find out where and when to watch the upcoming games and final match for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar, including where to find live updates.
ksl sports logos...
KSL Sports

KSL Sports Newsletter: Sign Up Now

Sign up today for the KSL Sports newsletter. Get the latest Utah sports news delivered to your inbox.
KSL Sports

Win Tickets Wednesday: Jimmy Buffett

Get your Hawaiian shirts ready.
Iron Maiden tour...
KSL Sports

Win Tickets Wednesday: Iron Maiden

Iron Maiden returns to Utah in 2022 with The Legacy of the Beast tour.
BYU Football Releases First Depth Chart Of 2021 Season At Annual Media Day