Share this story...
Brady Christensen - BYU
Latest News

Outland Trophy Makes Good On Oversight, Adds BYU’s Brady Christensen To Watch List

BYU offensive lineman Brady Christensen poses for a photo at the Indoor Training Facility at BYU in Provo on Wednesday, Aug. 7, 2019. (Kristin Murphy, Deseret News)

PROVO, Utah – BYU offensive lineman Brady Christensen had to wait nearly three months, but he’s now been added to the Outland Trophy Watch List.

Christen, a junior left tackle, has been a star on a BYU offensive line that is one of the top offensive lines in the country this season. Pro Football Focus currently grades Christensen as the second-highest rated tackle in college football.

Despite the dominant play and being a third-year starter at left tackle, Christensen didn’t receive any preseason hype from the Football Writers Association of America, who put together the Outland Trophy watch list.

BYU OT Brady Christensen makes Outland Trophy Watch List

Before the 2020 season started, Christensen didn’t appear on the Outland Watch list, an award given to the best interior lineman in college football. A surprising error, considering Christensen started in 26 games in his freshman and sophomore seasons.

Christensen’s offensive line coach, Eric Mateos, even called out the Outland Trophy to add Christensen to the Watch List during fall camp in August.

But after a long wait to see his name on the list, the Outland Trophy recognized their mistake and added BYU’s star left tackle to the list. They even acknowledged the oversight on their Twitter account, tweeting, “Brady Christensen, excuse us for any oversight, you are on the 2020 @outlandtrophy Watch List.”

Christensen now joins his BYU teammates James Empey and nose tackle Khyiris Tonga on the 2020 Outland Trophy list.

Last year’s Outland winner, Oregon’s Penei Sewell, was in attendance at BYU’s win over Western Kentucky this past weekend. Maybe he put in a good word to get Christensen on the list as he prepares for next April’s NFL Draft.

The Outland Trophy was first awarded in 1946, and since its first year, BYU has two players who have won the award in Jason Buck (1986) and Mohammed Elewonibi (1989).

Mitch Harper is a BYU Insider for and host of the Cougar Tracks Podcast (SUBSCRIBE) and Cougar Sports Saturday (Saturday from 12–3 p.m., KSL Newsradio). Follow him on Twitter: @Mitch_Harper and the KSL Sports app.

  • BYU Cougars Scoreboard

  • BYU Cougars Team Leaders

  • BYU Cougars Standings