Share this story...
Latest News

Moss, Whittingham First To Earn All-Conference OPOY, COY Awards For Utah

Utah Utes running back Zack Moss (2) waves to fans after running for a touchdown during the game against the Arizona Wildcats at Arizona Stadium in Tucson, Arizona on Saturday, Nov. 23, 2019. (Spenser Heaps, Deseret News)

SALT LAKE CITY, Utah – Utah running back Zack Moss and head coach Kyle Whittingham earned All-Pac-12 honors.

Moss is the Pac-12 offensive player of the year while Whittingham earned the coach of the year award.

Defensive player of the year was awarded to California linebacker Evan Weaver.

Moss led the Pac-12 in rushing yards with 1,359. He also broke the school record for all-time rushing leader which was previously held by Eddie Johnson.

This offensive player of the year award is a first for the Utes.

Whittingham led the Utes to an 11-2 record this season. Before losing the Pac-12 title game, his team was in the conversation for a possible College Football Playoff berth.

This is the first time Whittingham has been the Pac-12 coach of the year.

All-Conference First Team

The Pac-12 also announced its All-Conference first team Tuesday. Utah led the way with eight players on the team.

Bradlee Anae (DE), Leki Fotu (DL), Jaylon Johnson (DB), Moss (RB), Julian Blackmon (DB), Darrin Paulo (OL), Tyler Huntley (QB) and Francis Bernard (LB) all made the first team.

John Penisini (DL) and Brant Kuithe (TE) made the All-Pac-12 second team.

Whittingham and Utes are preparing to take on Texas in the Alamo Bowl on New Year’s Eve.