Share this story...
Latest News

Weber State DE Named Big Sky Defensive MVP; 14 Receive All-Conference

(Photo courtesy of Weber State Athletics)

OGDEN, Utah – The Big Sky Conference released their end of season awards, naming Weber State defensive end Jonah Williams the Co-Defensive MVP.

The Wildcats had 14 players earn All-Conference honors, which is the most in the conference.

Williams is the fifth Wildcat in school history to earn the award. He had 6.5 sacks, which was fifth in the conference, as well as 15 tackles for loss. Williams shared the award with Montana’s Dante Olson.

Five players were named first team All-Big Sky, including running back Josh Davis, offensive lineman Ty Whitworth, fullback Clay Moss, Jonah Williams and defensive tackle Jared Schiess. The three-time defending conference champs had 5 players named to the second team, including defensive end Adam Rodriguez, Auston Tesch, defensive back Eddie Heckard, kicker Trey Tuttle and punter Doug Lloyd.

On the third team, running back Kevin Smith, offensive lineman Ben Bos, defensive end George Tarlas and defensive back Preston Smith were honored.

Weber State received a No. 3 seed in the FCS Playoffs. They will host the winner of Wofford and Kennesaw State in the second round on Saturday, December 7.

Southern Utah had 7 players receive honors. Offensive lineman Zach Larsen was named to the first team, offensive lineman Braxton Jones, kick returner Judd Crockett and defensive back Carlton Johnson were named to the third team. For honorable mention, wide receiver Lance Lawson, linebacker Alex Sims and defensive back AJ Stanley was listed.