TBT Announces Salt Lake City Regional

Jun 11, 2019, 11:24 AM
(Photo by Doug Pensinger/Getty Images)...
(Photo by Doug Pensinger/Getty Images)
(Photo by Doug Pensinger/Getty Images)

SALT LAKE CITY, Utah – The Basketball Tournament – also known as “TBT” announced their 64-team bracket for a chance to win $2 million dollars. The Maverik Center and Team Fredette is hosting the Salt Lake regional from July 25-27.

The No. 1-seed will be the 2018 runner-up Eberlein Drive, which features University of California all-time leading scorer Jerome Randle, five-year NBA veteran Donald Sloan and former North Carolina star and NBA champion James Michael McAdoo.

Team Challenge ALS will be the No. 2 seed, led by former Boston College standout Sean Marshall, who honors his college roommate Pete Frates, a Boston College baseball star who is fighting ALS. They will have six-year NBA veteran Austin Daye and overseas pro D.J. Strawberry. Team Challenge ALS will have names on the back of their jersey’s of someone fighting ALS rather than their own last name.

The No. 3-seed Team Fredette is the host team with former BYU coach Dave Rose coaching the team that was created by former BYU star Jimmer Fredette, who will not play due to being under contract with the Phoenix Suns but will be an assistant coach. Former Cougars scorer Tyler Haws will play his first TBT and will be joined by former Bowling Green stud Jordon Crawford, University of Houston alums Rob Gray and Devonta Pollard. Former Xavier star Tu Holloway will also be on the team.

Sons of Westwood is the No. 4-seed, who return former NBA first round pick Jordan Adams, McDonald’s All-Americans Issac Hamilton and Malcolm Lee. Former Bruins stars Travis and Drew Wear as well as Larry Drew II is on the squad.

The No. 5-seed is the LA Cheaters, who is coached by Los Angeles basketball legend Casper Ware Sr. His son Casper Ware Jr. returns to TBT with former Nets and Memphis Grizzlies guard Marcus Williams.

CitiTeam Blazers are the No. 6-seed in the Salt Lake City regional, which is led by former NBA first round pick Jordan Hamilton, former New York Knicks forward Malcolm Thomas and UConn standouts Jerome Dyson and Jeff Adrien.

The No. 7-seed is the Utah Stallions, which is filled with former Utah State players like Spencer Butterfield and Preston Medlin, Danny Berger and Jordan Stone. Former Utah starters Parker Van Dyke and Tyler Rawson will also play for the Utah Stallions.

Team Utah is the No. 8 and final seed in the Salt Lake regional, which was started by former Utah and Olympus High School standout Shaun Green. He will be joined by former Utes Tim Drisdom and Dakari Tucker. Former Jazzman, UVU star and 12-year NBA veteran Ronnie Price is on the team as well.

The first game at the Maverik Center will begin on July 25 at 3 p.m. with Eberlein Drive facing Team Utah. Sons of Westwood and LA Cheaters will square off at 4:50 p.m. Challenge ALS and Utah Stallions will play at 6:40 p.m. followed by Team Fredette and CitiTeam Blazers at 8:30 p.m. The four winners will play on Friday at 7 p.m. and 9 p.m. with the regional final taking place on July 27 at 7 p.m.

Local Athletes

BYU Football, Owen Borg, Corner Canyon...
Brian Preece

Corner Canyon LB Says ‘Dream Come True’ After Committing To BYU

BYU football added to their class of 2023 with a commitment from Corner Canyon senior linebacker Owen Borg.
2 days ago
Zach Wilson, New York Jets...
Brian Preece

Instant Replay: Quarterback Or Wideout? Zach Wilson Does It All

Former No. 2 overall pick Zach Wilson can seemingly do no wrong in his second NFL training camp with the New York Jets.
2 days ago
Ephraim Asiata...
Brian Preece

Instant Replay: Devin Lloyd Offers Well Wishes To Ephraim Asiata

Jacksonville Jaguars linebacker and former University of Utah player Devin Lloyd reached out to Ephraim Asiata with words of encouragement as he recovers from a January shooting that that took the lives of 14-year-old Tivani Lopati and 15-year-old Paul Tahi.
5 days ago
Julian Blackmon - Indianapolis Colts - Cincinnati Bengals...
Brian Preece

Instant Replay: Former Utah DB Beat Boxes For Fans At Colts Camp

SALT LAKE CITY – Former Ute and current Indianapolis Colts safety Julian Blackmon had some fun with a fan following practice on Saturday evening. The Colts are holding training camp at Grand Park Sports Campus in Westfield, Indiana. Man I gotta share this. I love this game, but I love the fans more. So fun […]
10 days ago
Brian Preece

Former BYU Defensive Lineman Signs Deal With 49ers

Former Brigham Young defensive lineman Tomasi Laulile has signed a deal with the San Francisco 49ers following a recent workout for the team.
11 days ago
LARRY LAGE AP Sports Writer

Pendrith Takes One Shot Lead Over Finau At Rocket Mortgage

Taylor Pendrith grew up getting breaks from golf, putting the clubs away each winter in Canada.
12 days ago
TBT Announces Salt Lake City Regional