Reports: Real Salt Lake To Participate In 8-Team Tournament

May 17, 2019, 2:47 PM
Andy Williams #77 of Real Salt Lake is pulled down by Julio Cesar Dominguez #4 and Javier Orozco #2...
Andy Williams #77 of Real Salt Lake is pulled down by Julio Cesar Dominguez #4 and Javier Orozco #27 of Cruz Azul during the second half of an CONCACAF soccer game October 19, 2010 at Rio Tinto Stadium in Sandy, Utah. Real Salt Lake beat Cruz Azul 3-1. (Photo by George Frey/Getty Images)
(Photo by George Frey/Getty Images)

SANDY, Utah – According to multiple reports, Real Salt Lake will participate in an 8-team tournament with four teams from Major League Soccer and four clubs from Liga MX.

RSL will join the Chicago Fire, Los Angeles Galaxy and Houston Dynamo as the MLS participants. Cruz Azul, Tigres, Xolos and Club America are the four Mexican teams.

Neither league has officially announced the tournament and the matchups and format has not been announced.

The tournament is expected to begin in July and go through September, according to Cruz Azul Sports Director Ricardo Pelaez.

RSL has faced all four of the reported Mexican clubs in the tournament at least once. They faced Tigres in 2008 in Utah and picked up a 1-0 win. They faced each other again in CONCACAF Champions league in 2016 with Tigres winning 2-0 at home and a 1-1 draw at Rio Tinto Stadium to advance to the second round on 3-1 aggregate.

In 2009, RSL faced Club America and beat them 1-0. They played Cruz Azul in 2010 in CONCACAF Champions League when Real made their magical run to the final. They lost 5-4 at Cruz Azul but won 3-1 at home in the second leg to escape on aggregate 7-6. They faced Xolos once in 2014 and played to a 1-1 draw.

  • Real Salt Lake Scoreboard

  • Real Salt Lake Team Leaders

  • Real Salt Lake Standings

Real Salt Lake

Kyle Ireland

Real Salt Lake GM Says Club Will Pull Trigger To Bring In ‘Right Pieces’

Real Salt Lake GM Elliott Fall said that the club will "definitely pull the trigger" when they find "the right piece" to bring in.
6 days ago
Kyle Ireland

Jasper Löffelsend: Real Salt Lake Hungry To Defend America First Field

Defender Jasper Löffelsend said that Real Salt Lake is hungry to defend America First Field and prove themselves at home.
6 days ago
Chandler Holt

Real Salt Lake Midfielder Diego Luna Named To U-20 U.S. Youth National Team

Real Salt Lake's Diego Luna will play for the U-20 United States Youth National Team in Spain. The 19-year-old has played 15 games for RSL.
6 days ago
Kyle Ireland

Real Salt Lake Forward Jefferson Savarino Named To Venezuela Roster

The Venezuelan national team named RSL forward Jefferson Savarino to its roster for upcoming friendlies against Saudi Arabia and Uzbekistan.
7 days ago
Real Monarchs - Training - Herriman...
KSL Sports

Real Monarchs Release 2023 MLS NEXT Pro Schedule

The Real Monarchs released their 2023 MLS NEXT Pro schedule Tuesday afternoon.
9 days ago
Chandler Holt

Real Salt Lake Loses Heartbreaker To Austin FC In Home Opener

Real Salt Lake lost in the home opener to Austin FC by one score, 2-1. Justen Glad scored the one goal for RSL.
12 days ago

Sponsored Articles

High angle view of the beautiful Rose Bowl Stadium...
KSL Digital Sales

How to Prepare for the 2023 Rose Bowl

Everything you need to know to plan your 2023 Rose Bowl trip in Pasadena, California. This year, the Utes will face Penn State.
KSL Digital Sales

Notable Moments From The Utah Jazz Season… So Far

At the beginning of the season, the Utah Jazz were second to last. Now they rank in the top 10 teams in the Western Conference.
Football soccer ball on grass field on stadium...
KSL Digital Sales

Everything You Need to Know to Watch the 2022 World Cup

Find out where and when to watch the upcoming games and final match for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar, including where to find live updates.
ksl sports logos...
KSL Sports

KSL Sports Newsletter: Sign Up Now

Sign up today for the KSL Sports newsletter. Get the latest Utah sports news delivered to your inbox.
KSL Sports

Win Tickets Wednesday: Jimmy Buffett

Get your Hawaiian shirts ready.
Iron Maiden tour...
KSL Sports

Win Tickets Wednesday: Iron Maiden

Iron Maiden returns to Utah in 2022 with The Legacy of the Beast tour.
Reports: Real Salt Lake To Participate In 8-Team Tournament