Four Aggies Take Home Mountain West Conference Awards

Mar 12, 2019, 4:17 PM | Updated: Mar 13, 2019, 12:04 am

LOGAN, Utah – The Mountain West Conference released their individual and All-Conference awards following their regular season. The Utah State Aggies were well represented as four individuals were given awards.

The conference hands out six awards to individuals, Utah State had four players and coaches receive recognition. They also vote on three All-Conference teams as well as Honorable Mentions and All-Defensive Team.

Utah State is the No. 2-seed in the Mountain West Conference Tournament.

Player Of The Year

Utah State guard Sam Merrill has been named the conference Player of the Year after an outstanding regular season and was also named first team All-Conference. He averaged a league-best 22 points per game, including a 38-point career-high performance in the regular season finale against Colorado State.

Merrill led the conference in free-throws made with 99, an 89 percent free-throw percentage, second in minutes played, third in assist-to-turnover ratio, fourth in three-pointers made and fifth in assists.

The Bountiful, Utah native is the first Aggie to average more than 20 points per game since Jaycee Carroll posted 22.4 points per game. Merrill is the seventh player in school history to be named conference Player of the Year, joining Tai Wesley as the most recent back in 2011.

Coach Of The Year

First year head coach Craig Smith has been named the Mountain West Coach of the Year. He led the Aggies to a share of the regular season conference title, despite being predicted by the media to finish in ninth place in the preseason poll.

He is just the second first-year head coach to be named Coach of the Year in the Mountain West, the other being Utah’s Ray Giacoletti in 2005. The last Utah State coach to win the award was Stew Morrill in 2002.

Their 25 wins under Smith is the most by a first-year head coach in school history and fifth-most by a first-year coach in conference history. Giacoletti had 29 wins in 2005, New Mexico’s Craig Neal won 27 games in 2014, former UNLV head coach Dave Rice picked up 26 wins in 2012, Colorado State’s Larry Eustachy had 26 wins in 2013.

Defensive/Freshman Player Of The Year

Freshman center Neemias Queta has been award the Defensive Player of the Year and the Freshman of the Year in the conference. He was a big reason why the Aggies defense was ranked No. 10 in the nation in field goal percentage defense and third in 2-point field goal percentage.

Queta holds the single-season school record for most blocks in a season with 73, passing the previous mark of 59 rejections. He is the sixth USU player to take home the conference Freshman of the Year and only the second player to win Defensive Player of the Year, joining Shawn Daniels in 2001.

The first year center was also named to the second team All-Mountain West and the All-Defensive team.

Utah State will face the winner of No. 7 New Mexico and No. 10 Wyoming in the quarterfinals of the Mountain West Conference Tournament on Thursday at 7 p.m. on CBS Sports Network.

  • Utah State Aggies Scoreboard

  • Utah State Aggies Team Leaders

  • Utah State Aggies Standings

Utah State Aggies

utah state forward dan akin...
Brian Preece

Poor Start Dooms Utah State In Second Home Loss Of Season

A furious second-half comeback attempt by Utah State fell short as Max Shulga's potential game-winner rimmed out in a 63-61 loss.
1 day ago
Ryan Odom USU head coach...
Brian Preece

Utah State Looks To Even Season Series Against No. 25 San Diego State

Utah State has a golden opportunity to bolster its postseason resume while simultaneously dropping the rival Aztecs down a peg or two.
1 day ago
Kyle Ireland

Utah State’s Max Shulga Responds To Colorado State’s Chant, Apology

Utah State's Max Shulga issued a response following Colorado State's apology for a negative chant directed at him.
4 days ago
Kyle Ireland

Colorado State Apologizes After Negative Chant Toward Utah State’s Max Shulga

Colorado State issued an apology after the its student section chanted "Russia' at USU's Max Shulga during a game between the Aggies and Rams.
4 days ago
Steven Ashworth - Utah State Aggies...
Brian Preece

12 Second Half Threes Lead Utah State Over Colorado State

It was raining in Fort Collins as Utah State made 12 second-half threes on their way to an 88-79 road win against Colorado State.
5 days ago
Brian Preece

Utah State Gymnastics Come Up Short On Final Rotation, Fall At Boise State

Utah State took a slim lead into the final rotation but couldn't hold on, falling 196.325-195.675 against Boise State.
5 days ago

Sponsored Articles

High angle view of the beautiful Rose Bowl Stadium...
KSL Digital Sales

How to Prepare for the 2023 Rose Bowl

Everything you need to know to plan your 2023 Rose Bowl trip in Pasadena, California. This year, the Utes will face Penn State.
KSL Digital Sales

Notable Moments From The Utah Jazz Season… So Far

At the beginning of the season, the Utah Jazz were second to last. Now they rank in the top 10 teams in the Western Conference.
Football soccer ball on grass field on stadium...
KSL Digital Sales

Everything You Need to Know to Watch the 2022 World Cup

Find out where and when to watch the upcoming games and final match for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar, including where to find live updates.
ksl sports logos...
KSL Sports

KSL Sports Newsletter: Sign Up Now

Sign up today for the KSL Sports newsletter. Get the latest Utah sports news delivered to your inbox.
KSL Sports

Win Tickets Wednesday: Jimmy Buffett

Get your Hawaiian shirts ready.
Iron Maiden tour...
KSL Sports

Win Tickets Wednesday: Iron Maiden

Iron Maiden returns to Utah in 2022 with The Legacy of the Beast tour.
Four Aggies Take Home Mountain West Conference Awards